2013-2014 College Football Head Coach Changes — NCAA FBS


The latest up to date listing of NCAA FBS (division 1A) head coach fires, hires, resignations and promotions for the upcoming 2013-2014 college football season.

Last Updated: January 20, 2012

2013/2014 NCAA FBS College Football
Head Coach Changes




Old Coach
(fired, retired,
or moved on)


New Coach

 1. Arkansas SEC John L Smith Fired Bret Bielema
 2. Arkansas State Sun Belt Gus Malzahn Left for Auburn Bryan Harsin (Texas OC)
 3. Auburn SEC  Gene Chizik Fired Gus Malzahn
 4. Boston College ACC Frank Spaziani Fired Steve Addazio
 5. Cincinnati Big East Butch Jones Left for Tennessee Tommy Tuberville
 6. Colorado PAC-12  John Embree Fired Mike Macintyre
 7. Florida International U. Sun Belt Mario Cristobal Fired Ron Turner (Tampa Bay QB Coach)
 8. Georgia State Sun Belt1 Bill Curry Retired Trent Miles (Indiana State HC)
 9. Idaho WAC Rob Akey Fired Paul Petrino (Arkansas OC)
 10. Kent State MAC Darrell Hazell Left for Purdue Paul Haynes (Arkansas DC)
 11. Kentucky SEC Joker Phillips Fired  Mark Stoops (FSU DC)
 12. Louisiana Tech WAC Sony Dykes Left for California Skip Holtz
 13. Nevada MWC   Chris Ault Retired Brian Polian (Texas A&M TE Coach)
 14. North Carolina State ACC Tom O’Brien Fired Dave Doren
 15. Northern Illinois U. MAC Dave Doren Left for N. Carolina State Rod Carey (NIU OC)
 16  Oregon PAC 12  Chip Kelly Left for Philadelphia Eagles  
 17. Purdue Big 10 Danny Hope Fired Darrell Hazell 
 18. San Jose State  WAC Mike Macintyre Left for Colorado Ron Caragher (University of San Diego HC D-1AA)
 19. South Florida Big East Skip Holtz Fired Willie Taggart
 20. Southern Miss  Conf USA Ellis Johnson Fired  Todd Monken (Oklahoma State OC)
 21.  Syracuse  ACC (2013) Doug Marrone   Left for Buffalo Bills Scott Shafer (Syracuse DC)
 22. Temple  Big East Steve Addazio Left for Boston College Matt Rhule (NY Giants OL)
 23. Tennessee SEC Derek Dooley Fired Butch Jones
 24. Texas Tech Big 12 Tommy Tuberville Left for Cincinnati Kliff Kingsbury (Texas A&M OC)
 25. Utah State WAC   Gary Andersen  Left for Wisconsin Matt Wells (Utah State OC)
 26. UTEP Conf USA Mike Price Retired Sean Kugler (Pittsburgh Steelers OLC)
 27. University of California PAC-12 Jeff Tedford Fired Sony Dykes
 28. Western Kentucky Sun Belt Willie Taggart Left for S. Florida Bobbby Petrino
 29. Western Michigan MAC Bill Cubit Fired  P.J. Fleck T(ampa Bay WRC)
 30. Wisconsin Big 10 Bret Bielema Left for Arkansas  Gary Andersen
“*” Indicates an interim head coach. All new coaches were former FBS head coaches except where noted by (xxx). 1 The Georgia State Panthers football program, founded in 2010, is a new FBS school that is tentatively scheduled to become a full participant in  the Sun Belt Conference starting in 2014 season.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

3 × five =

8 + 3 =